October's Match Reports

Match Report: 16th October 2017
Pegasus Are Flying High & The Blackford Cup Is Under Way

In Ladies' Division One, newly promoted Kennet A moved to the top of the table with a 6-0 win over their B team, with clean sheets from Claire Drysdale, Katie Wood, Andrea Wood and Sue Haines.

Two home wins for BH Pegasus saw them take top spot in Mixed Division Two. The first of their victories was by 6-3 over two pair Newbury B, for whom Claire Semple-Struthers and Dinesh Raja scored a maximum in a losing cause. The second win being a much closer affair with a 5-4 victory over St Mary's B that went down to a last rubber decider. Indeed, St Mary's had led 4-3 with two rubbers to play but ultimately it was Sandra Jennings and Kevin Harris who saw BH Pegasus over line with a three end triumph over the evergreen away pair of Margaret Mason and Tony Glinos. Earlier braces from Christie Yao / Ray Chow and Karin Themsen / Ramsay Domloge had taken the match to 4-4.

The rest of the fixtures were in the Blackford Cup where a place in the quarter finals was on offer for the winners.

An experienced Newbury side were able to overcome their handicap with a comfortable two legged victory over Bucklebury B. The overall margin of victory was 75 points after winning the first leg by 381-341 and the second leg by 378-343.

Downlands took a narrow six point advantage into the second leg following a 362 - 356 win over Blackford Cup holders Kennet B. Despite Downlands winning five and drawing three of the ten rubbers available Kennet B were still well in the tie.

In the second leg, Kennet B made the strong start they craved with Amy Foreman's victory in the Ladies singles and Matt Rawlings's win in the Gentlemen's singles giving them a 42 point lead on the night and wiping out Downlands's first leg advantage. However, these were their only victories on the night and following a draw between Elaine Brewin/Paul Dennis and Jackie Ansell/Malcolm Taylor the remaining seven rubbers were all won by Downlands. Slowly but surely Downlands reduced the deficit but with four rubbers to play Kennet B were still seven points ahead overall. Victory for Paul Dennis/Sacha Emery over Malcolm Taylor/Ted Ryan took Kennet B's lead on the night down to a single point and Downlands into the lead overall. There was no comeback for the holders in the final Mixed rubbers as wins for Sally Hill/Steve Keats, Elaine Brewin/Paul Dennis and Ali Ross/Sacha Emery took Downlands 33 points ahead on the night and to an overall victory by 39 points.

Match Report: 1st October 2017
Newbury and District Badminton 2017 / 2018 Season begins

The 2017 / 18 badminton season starts with Newbury looking to retain their Ladies title, St Mary's the Mixed title, Downlands the Mens title and Kennet B the Blackford Cup.

Early results suggest that the teams promoted last season may find this season more challenging, with many of them losing their opening matches, whilst most of the teams relegated last season started the new campaign with wins hoping for a quick return to the higher divisions.

Ladies Division 1 saw newly promoted Kennet A play two matches losing the 1st to last season's division winners Newbury A by 5 rubbers to 1 and then winning the 2nd against their B team by 5 rubbers to 1. In the 1st match Newbury's Julia Eatwell and Suzy Mugford kept clean sheets whilst Sue Haines and Claire Drysdale picked up the consolation rubber for Kennet A. Anna Fletcher and Durga Limbu picked up the sole rubber for Kennet B in the 2nd match whilst Sue Haines and Claire Drysdale were undefeated for the A team.

In Mens Division 1 St Mary's A started their campaign with a 9 rubbers to 0 win over promoted Downlands B. Gareth Jones / Lee Frith, Martin Graham / Michael Nash and Matt Benians / Dan Green each won 3 rubbers for the winners.

Kennet A, who were relegated to Mens Division 2, had two early wins as they look for a quick return to Division 1. The first match saw them defeat their B team by 8 rubbers to 1, Nick Bazin / Max Juniper and Phil Bennett / Owen Palka kept clean sheets for the A team with Tom Hunt / Stuart Ramsey picking up the consolation rubber for the B team. Nick Bazin / Max Juniper continued their winning streak as they were undefeated for Kennet A ensuring a 6 rubbers to 3 win over St Mary's B for whom Tony Glinos / MarkLowries won 2 rubbers.

St Mary's B had earlier beaten Shaw B by 6 rubbers to 3 with Tony Glinos / Kevin Digweed winning all 3 of their rubbers for St Mary's whilst Paul Olive / Ed Shaw picked up 2 rubbers for Shaw.

In a close match where 7 of the rubbers went to three ends, Kennet B won the final rubber to triumph over promoted Hurst B by 5 rubbers to 4. The match had seen both teams leading and when Colin Dangerfield / Josh Goldring won the 8th rubber (their 3rd of the night) for Hurst to level the match again, Hurst must have felt hopeful of a win but Kennet's Tom Hunt / Stuart Ramsey held their nerve to win the crucial 9th rubber (another nervy 3 ender) to seal the victory.

Bucklebury A defeated their B team by 9 rubbers to 0 with David Haines / John Holloway, Colin Shurey / Keith Vincent and Alan Arnold / Jake Welch all keeping clean sheets.

Mens Division 3 saw relegated Aldermaston play Whitchurch. Glynn Libberton / Rodney Booth and William Belfield / David Lowe each won all 3 of their rubbers to ensure a 6 rubbers to 3 victory for Aldermaston. In the same division Shaw C ran out winners by 8 rubbers to 1 over Kennet C, Oli Terry / Keith Watts and TrevorPoore / Oli Adams each won maximums for Shaw with Jamie Payne / Paul Knight picking up Kennet's consolation rubber.